Victoria University Scholarship awarded

Celia Hall is the recipient of the Boffa Miskell 4th-Year Student Landscape Architecture Award at Victoria University.

The award was for Celia’s project in Landscape Architecture Design Research (Ngā Mahi Whakarākei me ngā Mahi Pokepoke i a Papa-tūā-nuku), a studio-based investigation of an area of interest that can be further developed in the thesis year.

Celia’s project was a masterplan for Porirua.

In the citation for the award, Frazer Baggaley noted:

“We were very impressed with the depth of research, level of investigation and professional manner in which you presented. You gave good consideration to what is unique about the character of Porirua and integrated this well with the arrival experience at the train station, improving the wayfinding and connection to the centre. It was pleasing to see your use of water sensitive urban design principles in to support wayfinding and commercial development, creating multiple benefits to the investment in the built environment.

Your Masterplan was particularly strong and graphically engaging, clearly communicating the foundational concepts and design drivers evident at all scales. You had obviously spent time considering the viability of your proposal and this was very well articulated throughout your presentation.”

Megan Walker introduced Celia and Boffa Miskell chief executive Kerry Gupwell presented the award. Hannah Hopewell, Lecturer from the Wellington School of Architecture was also in attendance.

The Boffa Miskell Award was established in 2016 in recognition and support of Victoria University’s Landscape Architecture Programme and is presented annually.

Boffa Miskell employs many landscape architects who trained at Victoria University and those consultants have enjoyed opportunities to attend studio critiques and to be involved with students enrolled in the Landscape Architecture programme. Boffa Miskell supports similar student awards at Lincoln University and at Unitec.

For further information please contact Megan Walker or Frazer Baggaley

18 March 2020